Expert Voices: ‘Life begins at the end of your comfort zone’ - By Myffy Cairns

Myffy Cairns is an Associate Data Coach at Multiverse.

‘Life begins at the end of your comfort zone’ 

This is a phrase often used when justifying your decision to go mountain biking, traveling for a year, or even jumping out of a plane. It helps to provide that much-needed courage to overcome those feelings of fear or anxiety in extreme situations. But what if this mantra was not solely reserved for the justification of extreme sports? What if it was also used in the workplace and what impact would it have?

In my first year as a secondary school teacher, I became aware of the unique and diverse fears that students faced in every lesson at school. For some it was the fear of putting up their hand to ask for help in front of the class and for others it was reading text out loud from a textbook or working in a group. A student’s fear of completing these tasks could often trigger a negative spiral of behaviour that compromised their learning and the learning of others. As their teacher I began to reflect and ask myself a few questions; how have I overcome my fears in the past and how could I empower students to overcome theirs and accept them as challenges? 

Whether it was to calm my nerves before an exam or mentally prepare for a netball match, the mantra above helped me to manage my emotions and see things as learning opportunities. But how could I use this to help the students manage their emotions too? As everyone does in the 21st Century, I turned to google to help me out. I found an interesting article on the ‘Comfort, Stretch and Panic model’, which describes three different zones:

• Comfort Zone - where everything feels comfortable and there is no fear or discomfort

• Stretch Zone - where things feel awkward and unfamiliar but not too extreme that learning can’t occur

• Panic Zone - where things appear overwhelming and uncontrollable