Hi Lizzie! Firstly, can you start by telling us a little bit about yourself?

My name is Lizzie Rendell and I work as a Strategic Markets Manager at Skanska, one of the world’s leading construction and development businesses. I also chair Skanska UK’s LGBT+ network. 

How will you be celebrating this year? Will it be any different to usual due to COVID-19 restrictions?

This year, due to Covid, we have been celebrating Pride as a company a little differently to how we usually would. All our celebrations and events have been virtual, but it has been fantastic to be able to reach a wider audience this way. We have held panel discussions on the intersectionality between ethnicity, faith and LGBT+, specifically to recognise the pivotal role that black trans people played in the Stonewall Uprising in 1969, and I’m really excited for our Pride Film & TV club event later in the month!

Pride is a celebration of acceptance and love, through festivals, parades and concerts, but it is also about raising awareness and shining a light on LGBTQIA+ issues - how can members of the LGBTQIA+ community and allies do so this Pride month?

I think it’s particularly important that allies get involved in Pride month, take the time to understand a bit more about LGBTQ+ history and the current global picture for equality. I would also encourage allies to take the time to understand the lived experience of LGBTQ+ people in your country or industry through the countless books, TV shows, films and podcasts – I’m currently watching Pose and learning so much!

Lastly, can you tell us what Pride means to you?