3 min read

Hey Harrison! Congratulations on winning Member of the Month - could you tell us a little bit about your background, what apprenticeship you are doing & where you work?

Hi all, I’m Harrison. I am a huge fan of apprenticeships and made it my goal when I turned 17 to be a part of one, now after 3 years later I was given the opportunity to start an apprenticeship at NHS England and Improvement. I really want to inspire young people to start their careers through apprenticeships, not just by the traditional University route.  I have been an Analytical Apprentice At NHS England & Improvement based in London for the last 7 months, the apprenticeship course I am on is the Level 4 Data fellowship course covering a vast amount of different tools and pieces of software relating to data.

So, how do you feel about winning Member of the Month? Can you tell us a bit about your nomination? E.g who you were nominated by and why?

I was nominated by Harriet Oliver for the apprenticeship talk I did at my local and previous college. This talk was really important to me as I would be returning to my previous subject area of Level 3 BTEC Computing with the 2nd year students, they would frequently bring in ex-students to talk about their careers and how they used the course to improve themselves.

I was really inspired by these talks and as they helped me achieve my goals of becoming an apprentice. When I was offered a chance to talk with the classes of students I wanted to offer something different and more inspiring than I had seen before. I created a slide pack giving my advice for the college year ahead, details on apprenticeships, why and how to get an apprenticeship and showing off specific details of my course with Mulitverse. I felt this was really key to be realistic with the students as I discussed the struggles I had as a student and the difficulties I had searching for apprenticeships.